4kingcasino.com | 4kingbet.com| 4kingbingo.com REGISTER - JOIN 4kingpoker NOW
4kingpoker.com




Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: GR88 poker .. interesting emails ..

  1. #1
    rgchan's Avatar
    rgchan is offline trips
    3rd Non US League V
    WINNER PKR Cup I, 3rd PKR mini league I
    TPT III - 3rd Crazier Cannucks
    2nd Titan Cup
    3rd PKR Cup II
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ottawa canada
    Posts
    888

    Default GR88 poker .. interesting emails ..

    GR88.com Exposed

    It has come to our attention that a member of GR88 Poker's marketing team is emailing players directly asking them to join the GR88 card room. This person (Colin Anderson) was formerly on the staff at a couple of Merge Gaming Poker sites. After some investigating we've determined that he mostly likely gained access to these player e-mail addresses by taking them from his former employers mailing lists.

    If this is the case then he is using proprietary information to directly damage the income and player base of his former employers. There are, of course, legal issues with this for the poker rooms involved. What disturbs us as affiliates is that we are having our player base undermined by this tactic as well with no way to get restitution.

    We have removed any promotion or link to GR88 from our sites. We feel that GR88 broke the trust with players and affiliates by allowing this practice. We feel that any online poker site that has to use such dirty tactics to attract players is not worthy of being in any way associated with XXXXXXXXXXXX or it's members.

    We have notified Merge Gaming of the actions taken by GR88.com and they have promised us that they are launching a full investigation and will take the appropriate steps to put an end to the use of the tactics being employed by GR88.com. We are also considering to file a spam claim against GR88 under the Can-Spam Act as these emails are being sent unsolicited.

    I received some emails from Colin at GR88 but i used to work as a Mod for him at a forum a few years ago so I almost thought the email was authentic. I wonder if there will be any consequences to him or GR88 ??
    RG
    Last edited by scrawnybob; 04-16-2010 at 08:55 PM.
    • Bodog III Winner - Bodog IV Winner - Full Tilt 2010 - 2nd Place Individual

  2. #2
    scrawnybob's Avatar
    scrawnybob is online now Winner - ASOP 2011
    11th - GUKPT Walsall
    Winner - 4KSOP 2011 Razz
    63rd - UKIPT Brighton
    186th - DTD Grand Prix VI
    Winner - 4KSOP 2012 7 card stud hi-lo
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,304

    Default respect to fonzi for finding this

    hi

    just a quick respect to fonzi (who runs holdempokerchat.com) for posting this on his forum (guess he happy for the repost) and rg for reposting here ;-)

    link to the thread and unfolding story here ...

    GR88.com Exposed - Holdem Poker Forum

    cheers scrawnybob
    4kingpoker.com - The Friendly Poker Forum ... Don't Get Bitter - Get Better

    Scrawnybob's Poker Rambles in the Poker Blog

  3. #3
    rgchan's Avatar
    rgchan is offline trips
    3rd Non US League V
    WINNER PKR Cup I, 3rd PKR mini league I
    TPT III - 3rd Crazier Cannucks
    2nd Titan Cup
    3rd PKR Cup II
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ottawa canada
    Posts
    888

    Default

    I purposely blocked the other forum,s name Bob as i didn,t know if it was proper etiquette to mention another forum here. But thats the story. I don,t know if any legal action can be taken but it sets an interesting precedent.
    Rg
    • Bodog III Winner - Bodog IV Winner - Full Tilt 2010 - 2nd Place Individual

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    portland, or
    Posts
    711

    Default gr888

    wow, fascinating article and very well weitten. what's ironic is i was going to download the site yesreday but couldn't decide on who's link to use! was contemplating the ofc. now i'm considering a boycott. thanks for the information. will be interesting to see how they try to clean up this mess.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    delaware
    Posts
    437

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tking888 View Post
    wow, fascinating article and very well weitten. what's ironic is i was going to download the site yesreday but couldn't decide on who's link to use! was contemplating the ofc. now i'm considering a boycott. thanks for the information. will be interesting to see how they try to clean up this mess.
    lol, same here, heard there was a 500 dollar freeroll, but had to watch "survivor" so figured I'd check it out later. Guess it will be much later now, thanks for info.

  6. #6
    rgchan's Avatar
    rgchan is offline trips
    3rd Non US League V
    WINNER PKR Cup I, 3rd PKR mini league I
    TPT III - 3rd Crazier Cannucks
    2nd Titan Cup
    3rd PKR Cup II
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Ottawa canada
    Posts
    888

    Default

    I don,t think the site has any problem. There tied in with the same Carbon poker games so will have plenty of player traffic. Its just a sketchy move by one employee of Gr88 and the site may not have known about in advance in all fairness. I don,t think a boycott of the site is fair but the employee who used other Merge email listings on his should be reprimanded in my opinion.
    Rg
    • Bodog III Winner - Bodog IV Winner - Full Tilt 2010 - 2nd Place Individual

  7. #7

    Default

    While that was way shady by the employee and i hope he gets reprimanded for his actions.By the way while we are speaking about that OFC free roll i was in it and out of like 800 plus people i finished 73rd, lol so after 4 hours of playing i got a very respectable .75 cents
    DarkKnights 2010

    Full Tilt IV Cup - 2nd place
    Carbon Spring League 2011 - 2nd place

    ALL MONEY AINT GOOD MONEY,
    & ALL BITCHES AINT FEMALE EITHER!

  8. #8
    LombardiStix's Avatar
    LombardiStix is offline four of a kind
    WINNERS TPT II, TPT III - Dark Knights
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    CR
    Posts
    959

    Default

    Wow. That is a big deal. Fonz is legit and it is great to know people are looking out for poker players' privacy. I don't personally feel "violated", but I know the slippery slope theory. Big up to the protector.

    Stix

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    victoria bc canada
    Posts
    27

    Default

    too many new sites seem shifty,...and with soo many older ones that have shut down, and some of those screwing people out of their money...i tend to stay away from new sites now (tho sometimes they are easy money). i know gr88 is on the carbon,pdc network.. but i am already on at least 2-3 of there sites- the ofc just didnt interest me enough to download yet another

  10. #10
    tbdbitl's Avatar
    tbdbitl is offline trips
    WINNER Bodog Trophy I
    WINNERS TPT IV & V - Disturbed INC
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Peteyweestro View Post
    While that was way shady by the employee and i hope he gets reprimanded for his actions.By the way while we are speaking about that OFC free roll i was in it and out of like 800 plus people i finished 73rd, lol so after 4 hours of playing i got a very respectable .75 cents
    That's interesting! I only had to play 3 hours for $1.25 -- glad I didn't play an hour longer!
    Really?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
About Recommended Sites Gambling Addiction Contact

4kingpoker.com is not a poker room operator. Online Poker is not legal in all juristictions around the world, please ensure that it is legal in the country or
area you reside in. 4kingpoker accepts no liability for the information contained on this site and infromation is for news and entertainment purposes only.